Home Library How to Back up and restore references

Back up and restore references

RefWorks makes sure your data is safe and secure on our servers, but there may be time when you wish to have your own personal copy of your database or you want to move an account to another organizational subscription.  The Backup/Restore feature allows you to create a file that is a copy of your account that can only be restored in RefWorks.

The Backup/Restore feature is also used when you want to share an output style that you have customized with another RefWorks user.


To back up your RefWorks account

To back up a copy of your database (including RefID numbers and folders), and custom output styles follow the steps below.  Please Note - Folders that do not contain any references will not be saved. If you have empty folders that you wish to retain add a reference to the folder before backing up.  Also, any preferences set in the Customize area of RefWorks will be included in the backup.

  1. From either the Tools or the References menu select Backup/Restore.
  2. Ensure Include References is selected.
  3. Ensure Include RSS Feeds is selected.
  4. Ensure all custom Output Styles are selected to backup.
  5. Click on Perform Backup.
  6. Save the file when prompted.  If you are not prompted to save the file, click the option that says Click here to save your backup file to download the backup to your computer.

The default file name is a combination of your organization’s Group Code and your login name.  It will be saved as a .zip or . rwb file.  Please do not change the extension of the file as it is necessary to restore if you need to do so later.

Note: You cannot open the backup file.  Should you want a viewable copy of your references, use the Export option.

Using RefWorks

Using RefWorks after 1st June 2010

  1. Log on to the RefWorks link with your UHI user name and password.
  2. The first time you log on to RefWorks after the 1st June you will be required to enter your name and e-mail address (your UHI Groupwise e-mail address) in the boxes provided, choose your “Type of user” and your “Area of Focus” – see no. 1 in the picture below.
  3. Complete number 2.  Then you can click on number 3.  You should not need to do any of this the next time you log in.  After this you can go on to Restore your references as per the instructions in section C.

Screen print of instructions


Using the restore feature

Restoring will overwrite all of the references in your database. If you need to restore from a back up for some reason, be sure to do so in either an empty database or to an account that does not have any data you want to save.

Restoring Output Styles will overwrite styles with the exact same name and will add styles that are unique. As a result, you can create several custom styles and back up just the Output styles by selecting the styles you want to include or by selecting Check All to include all custom Output Styles.  Give this back up to a colleague and they can restore just the styles to add your custom ones to their program.  (Be sure you do not back up and restore the database as well.)

  1. From either the Tools or the References menu select Backup/Restore.
  2. Select the Restore option.
  3. Browse for the appropriate back up file.
  4. Select Include References, Include Output Styles and/or Include RSS Feeds.
  5. Click on Perform Restore.