Home Media News Archive 2013 University appoints new independent members to its governing body

University appoints new independent members to its governing body

22 May 2013
University appoints new independent members to its governing body

Members of the new University of the Highlands and Island Court


The University of the Highlands and Islands has appointed ten independent members to its governing body, the University Court.


The new members are:

Willie Printie – managing director, LifeScan Scotland

James MacDonald – group finance director, Global Energy Group

Andrew Rogers – chartered chemical engineer and mill manager at BSW Timber (Fort William)

Eileen Mackay – retired civil servant

Fiona McLean – former professor of cultural heritage management, Glasgow Caledonian University

Vicki Nairn – head of e-government, The Highland Council

Cllr David Alston – historian and elected member of Highland Council (Depute Leader)

Steve Thomson – board member, Highlands and Islands Enterprise (representing Highlands and Islands Enterprise) – based on Tiree

Malcolm Burr – chief executive, Comhairle nan Eilean Siar (representing local authorities in the University of the Highlands and Islands area)

Michael Foxley – chair of the further education regional board for the Highlands and Islands (Lochaber)


The Court is responsible for the strategic direction of the university and must ensure the good governance of the institution and its financial health, as well as managing risk.

It is being reconstituted following a review of the governance and management of the university and recognises that the Scottish Government’s proposed legislation on post-16 education will designate the University as having regional responsibility for the provision of further education as well as higher education in its operating area.

The University of the Highlands and Islands chief operating officer and secretary, Fiona Larg, said: “We received an excellent response to our advertisement for new independent University Court members.

“We were looking for members of the University Court of the highest calibre with a balance of the skills and experience our university needs at this exciting time in its development. It has been exceptionally difficult to choose our final appointees.

“I’m sure these new independent University Court members will all demonstrate the commitment to and enthusiasm for the exciting journey on which we are embarked.”

The new structure will assist in developing the provision of post-school learning in the region, for both full- and part-time learners. It will provide more and clearer progression opportunities through all qualification levels, with access through the further and higher education colleges and specialist institutions that comprise the university partnership.

As well as lay members, the new University Court will comprise the principal and vice-chancellor, rector and seven further members drawn from the university’s staff, students, academic partners and sponsor universities.

Until the reconstitution is approved, the prospective Court will operate in a ‘shadow’ capacity, as a committee of the current University Court.



Media contact

Susan Szymborski
Communications officer
d: 01463 279222
e: susan.szymborski@uhi.ac.uk

Filed under: