Meet the team

content

Prof Sandra MacRury

Click on a persons name below to be taken to their research profile page to see all their publicly available publications and activity.
content

Acting Head of Rural Health and Wellbeing

Dr Sarah-Anne Munoz

  • Health geography
  • Health and place
  • Community engagement and co-production
  • Participatory research

sarah-anne.munoz@uhi.ac.uk

Research Fellow in Rural Health

Dr Janet Heaton

  • rural environments, health and wellbeing
  • social isolation
  • telehealth
  • minimally disruptive medicine
  • patients' experience of illness
  • service delivery and organisation
  • qualitative research methods
  • secondary analysis of qualitative data
  • community engagement in and coproduction of research
  • sociology of time, place and space
  • data visualisation and infographics

janet.heaton@uhi.ac.uk

Research Fellow in Digital Health

Dr Ania Zubala

  • Arts therapies and arts & health
  • Wellbeing and aging
  • Mental health and wellbeing
  • Digital health
  • Public health, prevention & self-management
  • Humanising health and social care
  • Participatory and arts-based research

ania.zubala@uhi.ac.uk

Senior Lecturer in Digital Health

Dr Mark Grindle

  • Digital health systems

mark.grindle@uhi.ac.uk

Research Fellow in Rural Health

Dr Sara Bradley

  • ageing and older people's health
  • community engagement
  • co-production

sara.bradley@uhi.ac.uk

Research Fellow in Digital Health

Dr Hannes De Kock

  • Registered Chartered Clinical Psychologist
  • Digital technology in healthcare
  • Mental health
  • Task-shifting & Transdisciplinarity
  • Human Behaviour Change Theories

Hannes.DeKock@uhi.ac.uk

Postdoctoral Research staff content

Postdoctoral Research staff

Postdoctoral Research staff

Postdoctoral Researcher

Dr Anna Terje

  • Health inequalities
  • Rural health and wellbeing
  • Communities, place and belonging
  • Community engagement and participatory research

Anna.Terje@uhi.ac.uk

Postdoctoral Researcher

Dr Liz Ellis

  • Disability studies
  • Learning disabilities
  • Qualitative methods
  • Inclusive research
  • Co-production
  • Participatory research
  • Rural sociology

liz.ellis@uhi.ac.uk

Postdoctoral Researcher

Dr Nikki Perrin

  • Psychological health and wellbeing
  • Bio-psycho-social interactions in health
  • Psychological comorbidity in diabetes
  • Prevention strategies and intervention design
  • Improving access to healthcare and support
  • Improving education and awareness for both service users and providers

nicola.perrin@uhi.ac.uk     

Post-doctoral Research Assistant

Dr Jenny Hall

  • Digital health
  • Public health
  • Diabetes

jenny.hall@uhi.ac.uk 

Postdoctoral Researcher

Dr Issie MacPhail

  • Rural geographies, development histories and policy making
  • Rural health geohumanities, medical humanities and rural wellbeing
  • Interdisciplinary methodologies and action research
  • Arts, craft, power and performance in practies of community engagement
  • Community assets and wellbeing
  • Museums, community histories, heritage and rural wellbeing
  • Understanding sensory difference through sensory wayfinding in liquidscapes and landscapes
  • New frontiers, old walks and fuzzy borderlands in rural health communities

Issie.macphail@uhi.ac.uk 

Research Assistant

Dr Helen Bailey

  • Rural health and wellbeing
  • Built environment
  • Decision-making
  • Pedagogy

helen.bailey@uhi.ac.uk

PhD Students content

PhD Students

PhD Students

PhD Student

Dr Charles Knoery

  • Registered clinical doctor
  • Cardiology
  • Pre-hospital medicine
  • Digital technology in healthcare

charles.knoery@uhi.ac.uk

PhD Student in Rural Health

Matthew Fraser

  • Outdoor Exercise
  • Rural Health and Wellbeing
  • Type 2 Diabetes prevention and management
  • Health and Exercise Technology

08005183@uhi.ac.uk

PhD Student in Rural Health

Pam Nicoll

  • Remote and Rural Healthcare Education
  • Technology Enhanced Learning(TEL)
  • TEL Efficacy/Evaluation
  • Sustainable Remote and Rural Healthcare
  • PhD Remote and Rural TEL Research

pam.nicoll@uhi.ac.uk

PhD Student in Rural Health

Rebecca Mathews

  • Health Wellbeing and Nursing
  • Registered Nurse
  • Care of the older person
  • Clinical research
  • Diabetes management in care homes using technology

rebecca.mathews@uhi.ac.uk

PhD Student in Rural Health

Terryl O'Donovan

  • Science communication
  • Lyme disease
  • Critical discourse analysis
  • Critical post-structural theory

17022422@uhi.ac.uk