2003 Honorary Fellowships

President McAleeseIn September 2003, at the second annual UHI lecture, Her Excellency Mary McAleese, President of Ireland received an honorary fellowship from UHI.

Honorary fellowships were also conferred on Dr Farquhar Macintosh CBE, Chair of the Sabhal Mòr Ostaig Board of Trustees and an early visionary and constant supporter of a University of the Highlands and Islands, and to Professor C Duncan Rice, Principal and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Aberdeen, also a long standing and active supporter of UHI.