Awards event honours stand-out students and staff at UHI Perth

An Awards ceremony at UHI Perth recognised Outstanding, Best and Inspiring (OBI) staff and students on Thursday 6 June.

see full size image
Award-winning Outstanding, Best and Inspiring (OBI) UHI Perth staff and students

Led by HISA Perth - the Highland and Islands Students Association, staff and students put forward nominations in various categories celebrating teaching staff, non-teaching staff, Personal Academic Tutors, Student Voice Representatives and Sports Clubs and Societies.

Fiona Smith, HISA Perth President welcomed the nominated staff and students to the ceremony. She said: “There is so much talent in this room, and everyone longlisted has played an important role in supporting successful HISA events, various student initiatives and numerous clubs and societies over the year.”

William Campbell, HISA Cross-Campus President explained: “These awards embody the spirit of dedication and excellence. The landscape of higher and further education funding is challenging. We've all felt the pinch of budget constraints, and the uncertainty of funding allocations, resulting in student anxiety. Yet, despite these challenges, the spirit of UHI Perth is one of resilience and mutual support.

“Today, we honour those who have exemplified what it means to be Outstanding, Best, and Inspiring. These awards are beacons of hope and motivation and remind us that even in the face of financial adversity, excellence thrives, and community spirit prevails. Our award recipients are the stars of today’s awards. Your dedication, innovation, and unwavering passion have set you apart and I pass on my heartfelt congratulations.”

Rebecca Bond, HISA Depute President (Activities and Welfare) added: “The outstanding number of nominations received reassures us that the students here at UHI Perth value the wide range of staff around campus, as well as valuing the support from their fellow students and Student Voice Reps.

“Your HISA Perth team hope this celebration has brought some joy amongst the current uncertainty and anxiety. We are all here for the same reason - to provide the best experience for students during their time studying. Whether you have finished your studies or are returning next year, I hope your time here has given you the platform to go on and achieve your life goals.”

List of OBI winners:

  • Most Inspiring Student Winner: Zbigniew Ksiazak (Health and Fitness HNC)
  • Best Student Voice Representative Winner: Dagmara Dabrowska-Kochanek (Outdoor Education and Learning BAH)
  • Best Overall Student Winner: Debbie Matthew (Accounting HNC)
  • Most Inspiring Lecturer Winners: Laura Kelly (Social Services); Ricky Neil (Automotive Engineering)
  • Best PAT Highly Commended: Donna Cousins (Science); Jo Grant (New Opportunities)
  • Best PAT Winner: Lynn Mullholland (Hospitality and Food Studies)
  • Outstanding Education Support Highly Commended: Darren Paton, Lisa Marie Smith, Teresa Devine (Aramark); Becky Angus (Additional Support)
  • Outstanding Education Support Winner: Sharon McGuire (Sector Manager for Sport and Fitness and Schools College Partnership Lead)
  • Best Wellbeing Support Highly Commended: Lindsey Brown (Sport and Fitness)
  • Best Wellbeing Support Winner: Suzanne Wilson (New Opportunities)
  • Best Impact on the Student Experience Winners: Trina McFarlane (Reception); Chris Heaney (Sport and Fitness)
  • Club/Society of the Year Winner: UHI Perth Boccia Club
  • Overall Most Recognised Winners: Lindsey Brown (Sport and Fitness); Becky Angus (Additional Support)