Academic calendar

These are the approved dates for the university’s semesters.  However, some courses and locations may provide induction, pre-start, freshers, field trips or other activities which happen outwith these dates – either before or after the dates as listed.  Always check any information you are sent and if in doubt, check dates with your college, programme leader or tutor as appropriate, before making any decisions based on the dates listed here.

Students on Care and administrative practice HNC, Geography BSc Hons, Nursing BSc, any of the PGT or teaching PGDE courses should always contact their programme leader for their dates, which do not follow the standard calendar.

Semester dates for 2018/19

This is the academic calendar for 2018/19.

Most HNs
Semester 1: Monday 10 September 2018 - Friday 25 January 2019
Semester 2: Monday 28 January 2019 - Friday 07 June 2019

Most undergraduate degree courses
Semester 1: Monday 10 September 2018 - Friday 21 December 2018
Semester 2: Monday 28 January 2019 - Friday 17 May 2019

Autumn holiday (for both HN and degree students) is w/c 15 October 2018. Spring holidays are w/c 01 and 08 April 2019.

Download the 2018/19 academic calendar

 

Semester dates for 2019/20

This is the academic calendar for 2019/20.

Most HNs
Semester 1: Monday 09 September 2019 - Friday 24 January 2020
Semester 2: Monday 27 January 2020 - Friday 05 June 2020

Most undergraduate degree courses
Semester 1: Monday 09 September 2019 - Friday 20 December 2020
Semester 2: Monday 27 January 2020 - Friday 15 May 2020

Autumn holiday (for both HN and degree students) is w/c 14 October 2019. Spring holidays are w/c 30 March and 06 April 2020.

Download the 2019/20 academic calendar