Dr Iain MacInnes

Biography content

Biography

Senior Lecturer

Dr Iain MacInnes

I completed my PhD at the University of Aberdeen in the summer of 2008. Having completed my MA and MPhil at the University of Glasgow, my research at Aberdeen focussed on the period of the Second Scottish Wars of Independence (1332-1357), with particular interest in the conduct and behaviour of Scottish and English forces at war. I joined the Centre for History in January 2009 and, in addition to being module leader for several undergraduate and postgraduate modules, am also Programme Leader for most of the Centre's Taught Postgraduate provision. I am also currently Interim Subject Network Leader for Humanities, Education and Gaelic.

Research content

Research

Research

My research is focused on medieval Scottish political and military history. My first monograph and subsequent research have focused largely on the Second Scottish Wars of Independence (1332-1357), although I have also written about the First War of Independence, and am now expanding my research into the twelfth and thirteenth centuries as I examine the treatment of rebels and traitors in medieval Scotland. Areas of research interest within which I am happy to oversee PhD students include the above, as well as the following:

• Anglo-Scottish Relations
  • The Scottish Wars of Independence
  • The Hundred Years’ War
  • Medieval Warfare and Military History
  • Chivalry and Conduct in War
  • Revolt and Rebellion in medieval Scotland and England
  • Modern Popular Culture and the Depiction of 'the medieval'
Publications content

Publications

Publications

‘Katherine Beaumont, Countess of Atholl, and the Second Scottish War of Independence (c. 1327–c. 1336)’, Scottish Historical Review, 102(3) (2023), pp. 333-366