Dr Lucinda H S Dean (Lucy)

Biography content

Biography

Senior Lecturer in History (Late Medieval and Early Modern Scotland and Europe)

Dr Lucy Dean

I am a late medieval and early modern historian who works on Scotland and Europe with a keen interest in ceremony and ritual, monarchy and kingship, gender and masculinity, coming of age and the life cycle, material culture and public history.

I joined the Centre for History in 2016 having taught at the universities of Stirling, Glasgow and Edinburgh previously, as well as for the Open University (through Dundee). Prior to my doctoral studies I also worked as a cataloguer at the National Archives of Kew and as a heritage assistant at the Surrey History Centre (formally the Surrey County Archives), and more recently, I have worked collaboratively with the archive at the AK Bell Library and Archive (Culture Perth and Kinross) in Perth, helping to provide workshops and other activities.

My first forthcoming monograph – Death and the Royal Succession in Scotland, c. 1214 – c. 1543: Ritual, Ceremony and Power ­– has overhauled the research undertaken during and since my AHRC-funded doctoral thesis (University of Stirling, completed 2013) to explore and analyse the cyclical process of ritual succession from death onwards through four centuries of Scottish kingship. Ritual and ceremony remain central to my research, as does kingship, monarchy and power, but in recent years manhood and masculinity, material culture, burgh life and public history have become driving forces intertwined with these foci in newer ideas and projects. For more information, see research below.

Research content

Research

Research